Free IT Exam Tips

Here you can get free IT Exam Tips, and Improve your It Certification Skills.

Get Your IT Certification

You can get your IT Certification after help of our Tips.

Sunday, June 6, 2010

CompTIA A+ Test Structure

CompTIA announced that the new test will be a standard, multiple-choice exam. Most questions will have only a single correct answer, while others will have multiple correct answers, in which case, the question will include a note such as “select two”. An interesting and useful characteristic of the standard test is that questions may be marked and returned to later. This helps you manage your time while taking the test so that you don't spend too much time on any one question.

Question Types

The A+ exams consist entirely of multiple-choice questions, but the computer may present the test questions on the examination in a number of ways, as discussed here. We Provide this information primarily for reference. CompTIA states that the current exam is multiple-choice based.


Everyone is familiar with True/False type questions, but due to the inherent 50 percent chance of guessing the right answer, you will not see any of these on the A+ exam.

Multiple Choice

A+ exam questions are of the multiple-choice variety. Below each question is a list of four or five possible answers. Use the available radio buttons to select the correct answer from the given choices. Some questions will have more than one correct answer, in which case, the number of correct answers required is clearly stated.

Graphical Questions

There are two types of graphical questions. The first type incorporates a graphical element to the question in the form of an exhibit to provide a visual representation of the problem or present the question itself. These questions are easy to identify because they refer to the exhibit button on the bottom of the question windows. An example of a graphical question might be to identify a component on a drawing of a motherboard.

They call the second type of graphical question a hot spot, and it actually incorporates graphics as part of the answer. These types of questions ask the examine to click a location or graphical element to answer the question. Instead of selecting A, B, C, or D as your answer, you simply click the portion of the motherboard drawing where the component exists.

Free Response Questions

A test can present another type of question that requires a free response, or type-in answer. This is a fill-in-the-blank-type question where a list of possible choices is not given. You will not see this type of question on the A+ exams.

How to Become CompTIA A+ Certified

CompTIA A+ Certification is available to anyone who passes the tests. You don't have to work for any particular company. It's not a secret society. It is, however, an elite group. To become CompTIA A+ Certified, You must do two things:

* Pass the CompTIA A+ Essentials Exam 220-601
* Pass the one of the three CompTIA A+ Technicain Exams:
o CompTIA A+ IT Technicain Exam 220-602
o CompTIA A+ Remote Support Technicain Exam 220-603
o CompTIA A+ Depot Technicain Exam 220-604

If you already have your A+ Certification and wish to upgrade, CompTIA is allowing you to only take one the three technicain exams to upgrade your Certification.

The Exams can be taken at any Thomson Prometric or Pearson VUE testing center. If you pass both exams, you will get a certificate in the mail form from CompTIA saying that you have passed, and you will also receive a lapel pin and business card.

Welcome to CompTIA A Certification.Com

We designed this website to help you the CompTIA A+ Certification Exams.

We make this website to give you a complete and incisive review of all the important topics the exams target. The information contained here will provide you with the required foundation of knowledge that will not only allow you to succeed in passing the Comptia A+ Certification Exams, but will also make you a better CompTIA A+ Certified IT Technician.

Since the inception of the CompTIA A+ Exams, CompTIA periodically revises them to bring to bring them up to date in the rapidly changing world of computers. we have extensively revised and expanded this CompTIA A+ Study Guide with much new material, to match the revisions of the CompTIA A+ exams 220-601 and 220-602.
The Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) created the A+ Certification to provide technicians with an industry-recognized and valued credential. Due to its acceptance as an industry-wide credential, it offers technicains an edge in a highly competitive computer job market. Additionally, it lets others know your achievment level and that you have the ability to do the job right. Prospective employers may use the CompTIA A+ Certification as a condition of employment or as a means to a bonus or job promotion.

Earning CompTIA A+ Certification means that you have the knowledge and the technical skills necessary to be a successful entry-level IT Professional in today's environment. The recently revised exam objectives test your knowledge and skills in all the areas that todays's computing environment require.More then 5000 CompTIA A+ Certified Professionals and Employers participated in validating the revised exam's objectives. Although the tests cover a broad range of computer software and hardware, they are not vendor specific.

With the 2006 exams, CompTIA introduced an entirely new structure to the exams. You will still need two exams to achieve your CompTIA A+ Certification. However, where previously the two exams were esily divided into a hardware exam and a software exam, the new exams are organized very differently, and each tests knowledge in a variety of areas. The first exam is the CompTIA A+ Essentials (200-601) Exam, which every candidate must pass. This exam measures the competencies required for an entry-level IT Professional in a wide range of responsibilities.

Beyond the Essentials Exam, you can select your seconf exam from among three exam choices-each of which carefully targets specific job titles. For instance, the CompTIA 220-602 Exam tests competencies required for such job titles as IT technician, enterprise technician, IT administrator, field service technician, and PC technicain. The CompTIA 220-603 Exam targets the following job titles:
remote support technician, help desk technician, call center technician, specialist, and representative.
Finally, the CompTIA 220-604 Exam tests skills expected for such job titles as depot technicain and bench technicain.

CompTIA recognizes that soft skills are an important part of most jobs, so the exams for job titles that require interaction with customers include a domain called communication and professionalism, which deals with human interaction. This is the first time these skills are being measured in the CompTIA Exams.